The Resource Twilight, Stephenie Meyer

Twilight, Stephenie Meyer

Label
Twilight
Title
Twilight
Statement of responsibility
Stephenie Meyer
Creator
Contributor
Editor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When seventeen-year-old Bella leaves Phoenix to live with her father in Forks, Washington, she meets an exquisitely handsome boy at school for whom she feels an overwhelming attraction and who she comes to realize is not wholly human
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Character
Award
  • Abraham Lincoln Illinois High School Book Award, 2008.
  • Black-Eyed Susan Book Award (Maryland), High School, 2008.
  • Books I Love Best Yearly (BILBY), Older Reader, 2009.
  • Delaware Diamonds (book award), Middle School, 2009.
  • Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (Rosie Award), 2008.
  • Garden State Teen Book Award (New Jersey), Fiction (Grades 9-12), 2008.
  • Gateway Readers Award (Missouri), 2008.
  • Georgia Peach Book Award for Teen Readers, 2008.
  • Golden Archer Awards (Wisconsin): Middle/Jr. High, 2010.
  • Golden Sower Award (Nebraska), Young Adult, 2009.
  • Grand Canyon Reader Award (Arizona), Teen Book Category, 2008.
  • Iowa High School Book Award, 2008.
  • Isinglass Teen Read Award (New Hampshire), 2006-2007.
  • Kentucky Bluegrass Award for Grades 9-12, 2007.
  • Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards, Young Adult, 2009.
  • Rhode Island Teen Book Award, 2007.
  • South Carolina Book Award, Young Adult Books, 2008.
  • West Australian Young Readers's Book Award (WAYRBA), Older Readers, 2008.
  • YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults, 2012
  • YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, 2006
  • YALSA Best Books for Young Adults, 2006
  • School Library Journal Best Books, 2005.
Review
  • /*Starred Review*/ Gr. 9-12. In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The Silver Kiss (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed. This is a book of the senses: Edward is first attracted by Bella's scent; ironically, Bella is repelled when she sees blood. Their love is palpable, heightened by their touches, and teens will respond viscerally. There are some flaws here--a plot that could have been tightened, an overreliance on adjectives and adverbs to bolster dialogue--but this dark romance seeps into the soul. -- Ilene Cooper (Reviewed 11-15-2005) (Booklist, vol 102, number 6, p58)
  • /* Starred Review */ Gr 9 Up– Headstrong, sun-loving, 17-year-old Bella declines her mom's invitation to move to Florida, and instead reluctantly opts to move to her dad's cabin in the dreary, rainy town of Forks, WA. She becomes intrigued with Edward Cullen, a distant, stylish, and disarmingly handsome senior, who is also a vampire. When he reveals that his specific clan hunts wildlife instead of humans, Bella deduces that she is safe from his blood-sucking instincts and therefore free to fall hopelessly in love with him. The feeling is mutual, and the resulting volatile romance smolders as they attempt to hide Edward's identity from her family and the rest of the school. Meyer adds an eerie new twist to the mismatched, star-crossed lovers theme: predator falls for prey, human falls for vampire. This tension strips away any pretense readers may have about the everyday teen romance novel, and kissing, touching, and talking take on an entirely new meaning when one small mistake could be life-threatening. Bella and Edward's struggle to make their relationship work becomes a struggle for survival, especially when vampires from an outside clan infiltrate the Cullen territory and head straight for her. As a result, the novel's danger-factor skyrockets as the excitement of secret love and hushed affection morphs into a terrifying race to stay alive. Realistic, subtle, succinct, and easy to follow, Twilight will have readers dying to sink their teeth into it.–Hillias J. Martin, New York Public Library --Hillias J. Martin (Reviewed October 1, 2005) (School Library Journal, vol 51, issue 10, p166)
  • Sun-loving Bella meets her demon lover in a vampire tale strongly reminiscent of Robin McKinley's Sunshine. When Bella moves to rainy Forks, Wash., to live with her father, she just wants to fit in without drawing any attention. Unfortunately, she's drawn the eye of aloof, gorgeous and wealthy classmate Edward. His behavior toward Bella wavers wildly between apparent distaste and seductive flirtation. Bella learns Edward's appalling (and appealing) secret: He and his family are vampires. Though Edward nobly warns Bella away, she ignores the human boys who court her and chooses her vampiric suitor. An all-vampire baseball game in a late-night thunderstorm—an amusing gothic take on American family togetherness that balances some of the tale's romantic excesses—draws Bella and her loved ones into terrible danger. This is far from perfect: Edward's portrayal as monstrous tragic hero is overly Byronic, and Bella's appeal is based on magic rather than character. Nonetheless, the portrayal of dangerous lovers hits the spot; fans of dark romance will find it hard to resist. (Fantasy. YA) (Kirkus Reviews, September 15, 2005)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
136529
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1973-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Meyer, Stephenie
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
720
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
  • UG
  • High School
LC call number
PZ7.M5717515
LC item number
Tw 2005
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
NLM call number
BOOK: SGA MEY1
Reading level
  • 4.9.
  • 4.9
  • 4.4
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Tingley, Megan
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Twilight Saga
Series volume
1
Study program name
  • Accelerated Reader
  • Accelerated Reader AR
  • Reading Counts RC
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Swan, Bella (Fictitious character)
  • Cullen, Edward (Fictitious character)
  • Vampires
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Washington (State)
  • Vampires
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Washington (State)
  • Vampires
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Washington (State)
  • Cullen, Edward (Fictitious character)
  • High schools
  • Schools
  • Swan, Bella (Fictitious character)
  • Vampires
  • Washington (State)
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Twilight, Stephenie Meyer
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "Megan Tingley books."
  • "My editor, Megan Tingley, for all her help in making Twilight better than it started out"--Acknowledgements page
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
First sight -- Open book -- Phenomenon -- Invitations -- Blood type -- Scary stories -- Nightmare -- Port Angeles -- Theory -- Interrogations -- Complications -- Balancing -- Confessions -- Mind over matter -- The Cullens -- Carlisle -- The game -- The hunt -- Goodbyes -- Impatience -- Phone call -- Hide-and-seek -- The angel -- An impasse -- Epilogue : An occasion
Control code
ocm57193246
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
498, [34] pages
Isbn
9781417755912
Lccn
2004024730
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780316160179
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)57193246
Label
Twilight, Stephenie Meyer
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • "Megan Tingley books."
  • "My editor, Megan Tingley, for all her help in making Twilight better than it started out"--Acknowledgements page
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
First sight -- Open book -- Phenomenon -- Invitations -- Blood type -- Scary stories -- Nightmare -- Port Angeles -- Theory -- Interrogations -- Complications -- Balancing -- Confessions -- Mind over matter -- The Cullens -- Carlisle -- The game -- The hunt -- Goodbyes -- Impatience -- Phone call -- Hide-and-seek -- The angel -- An impasse -- Epilogue : An occasion
Control code
ocm57193246
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
498, [34] pages
Isbn
9781417755912
Lccn
2004024730
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780316160179
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)57193246

Subject

Genre

Member of

Included in

Library Locations

    • Amity Public LibraryBorrow it
      307 Trade Street, Amity, OR, 97101, US
      45.123326 -123.205021
    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Dayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      416 Ferry Street, Dayton, OR, 97114, US
      45.220501 -123.076794
    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • Jefferson Public LibraryBorrow it
      128 North Main Street, Jefferson, OR, 97352, US
      44.718014 -123.011649
    • Lyons Public LibraryBorrow it
      279 8th Street, Lyons, OR, 97358, US
      44.775286 -122.612965
    • Mount Angel Public LibraryBorrow it
      290 East Charles Street, Mount Angel, OR, 97362, US
      45.068308 -122.797712
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Sheridan Public LibraryBorrow it
      142 NW Yamhill Street, Sheridan, OR, 97378, US
      45.100699 -123.395913
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • Willamina Public LibraryBorrow it
      385 C Street, Willamina, OR, 97396, US
      45.080248 -123.485305
    • Woodburn Public LibraryBorrow it
      280 Garfield Street, Woodburn, OR, 97071, US
      45.143305 -122.858355
Processing Feedback ...