The Resource The widow, Fiona Barton

The widow, Fiona Barton

Label
The widow
Title
The widow
Statement of responsibility
Fiona Barton
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Following the twists and turns of an unimaginable crime, The Widow is an electrifying debut thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife. When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on when more bad things began to happen. . . But that woman's husband died last week. And Jean doesn't have to be her anymore. There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment. Now there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them that there were secrets. There always are in a marriage. The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything. . ."--
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • A missing child, an unreliable narrator—two staples of the best psychological suspense. Jean Taylor is the woman in the courtroom, the wife sitting next to a man accused of horrible things. The man is Glen Taylor, a delivery driver suspected of abducting two-year-old Bella Elliott. The problem is, there’s no body and the one hint of a confession was obtained illegally. Several years after his trial is dismissed, Glen dies in random traffic accident. Now Jean isn’t the wife; she’s the widow. Reporter Kate Waters is determined to get to the bottom of the story that’s haunted her for years. With Glen gone, will Jean finally open up about what really happened? Chapters jump from the days around Bella’s disappearance to Jean’s uneasy move into widowhood. Little slips, tiny cracks in her story, make the reader wonder whether Jean’s version should be the final say in what happened. A chilling British read that will appeal to fans of The Girl on the Train. -- Keefe, Karen (Reviewed 3/1/2016) (Booklist, vol 112, number 13)
  • /* Starred Review */ What would you do if your spouse suddenly became the prime suspect in the kidnapping of a two-year-old girl? That’s the stomach-churning prospect that confronts London hairdresser Jean Taylor in this exceptional debut from British journalist Barton, who circles her story as if it were a lurking panther, unseen but viscerally sensed. The main action occurs in 2010, with flashbacks to little Bella Elliott’s headline-dominating disappearance from her home in Southampton in 2006. Multiple narrators maximize suspense, with perspectives switching among tough-to-read Jean, whose husband, Glen, has just been fatally hit by a bus at the book’s start; haunted Det. Insp. Bob Sparkes, the lead investigator, whose career the case jeopardizes; and tabloid reporter Kate Waters, most resourceful of the frenzied journalistic pack chasing the story. Though Barton stumbles slightly down the homestretch, tipping what should be her biggest bombshell, she tells her tale with a realism and restraint that add to its shattering impact. Author tour. Agent: Madeleine Milburn, Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency (U.K.). (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed November 30, 2015) (Publishers Weekly, vol 262, issue 48, p)
  • After her husband is hit by a bus and killed, Jean is not the typical grieving widow, but Glen was not the average spouse either. Four years before his death, Glen was accused of kidnapping Bella, the young daughter of a single mother. Aside from the kidnapping and possible murder charges, investigations by detectives revealed some shameful habits of Glen's—issues sure to persuade any wife to leave. Jean, however, had taken on the role of supportive wife to a wrongly accused spouse. Yet, now that Glen is dead, Jean can tell the truth, and reporter Kate Waters is determined to get it out of her. The truth about Bella's kidnapping, Glen and Jean's lives, and the investigative techniques of both reporter and detective unfold slowly through multiple narratives. Though the characters are flatly drawn, the mystery of what actually happened to Bella and whether Glen's death was an accident will draw in readers until the final page. VERDICT Barton's first novel is one of suspense and intrigue that keeps the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.— Kristen Calvert Nelson, Marion Cty. P.L. Syst., Ocala, FL --Kristen Calvert Nelson (Reviewed February 1, 2016) (Library Journal, vol 141, issue 2, p67)
  • A woman whose recently deceased husband was the prime suspect in a horrific crime struggles with how—and if—she wants to step out from behind his shadow. Only a week after Jean Taylor's husband, Glen, stumbled in front of a London bus and died, the titular widow is beset by journalists begging for the exclusive rights to her story. Told from alternating perspectives—the widow, the journalist, the detective—and ping-ponging back and forth in time, Barton's debut is unfortunately more conventional than it first appears. At its core is the abduction of 2-year-old Bella Elliott from her Southampton backyard. With no immediate leads, the investigation, led by DI Bob Sparkes, flounders for weeks, which turn into months, until a tip leads Sparkes and his team to a blue van seen in the vicinity and thus to Glen, a delivery driver. Jean thought her marriage to Glen was the stuff of fairy tales: they'd married young, and he'd promised to always take care of her. She's the faithful, steadfast wife, even when the police start poking around Glen's life and it's revealed that he has a proclivity for child pornography—Jean refers to it as his "nonsense." But the question of how much she really knows about Glen's guilt—he was acquitted on all charges and successfully sued the police, but Bella is still missing—is what the Daily Post's Kate Waters, who finally coaxes the story out of her, is determined to uncover. The idea of a woman who stands beside an alleged monster is an intriguing one, and very nearly well-executed here, if it weren't bogged down with other too-familiar plotlines.(Kirkus Reviews, December 15, 2015)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10466896
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Barton, Fiona
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6102.A7839
LC item number
W53 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Kate Waters
Series volume
1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Family secrets
  • Marriage
  • Widows
  • Secrets
  • Family secrets
  • Marriage
  • Widows
Label
The widow, Fiona Barton
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928750306
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780143197607
Lccn
2015038893
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
  • 40025728669
  • 99970010799
  • 9781101990261
  • 99969789154
System control number
(OCoLC)928750306
Label
The widow, Fiona Barton
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928750306
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
324 pages
Isbn
9780143197607
Lccn
2015038893
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
  • 40025728669
  • 99970010799
  • 9781101990261
  • 99969789154
System control number
(OCoLC)928750306

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Dayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      416 Ferry Street, Dayton, OR, 97114, US
      45.220501 -123.076794
    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • West Salem Branch LibraryBorrow it
      395 Glen Creek Rd. NW, Salem, OR, 97304, US
      44.950761 -123.048683
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
    • Woodburn Public LibraryBorrow it
      280 Garfield Street, Woodburn, OR, 97071, US
      45.143305 -122.858355
Processing Feedback ...