The Resource The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish

Label
The weight of ink
Title
The weight of ink
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Kadish
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book. Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph." Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind"--
  • Ester Velasquez is an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city. Helen Watt is an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. When Helen is summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation, she enlists the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming. In a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents' scribe, the elusive "Aleph."
Summary
Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is a historical fiction about two women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order reconcile the life of the heart and mind
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10565926
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kadish, Rachel
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3561.A358
LC item number
W45 2017
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women historians
  • Jewish women
  • Jewish women
  • Women historians
Target audience
adult
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn953710143
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
567 pages
Isbn
9780544866461
Lccn
2017003440
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)953710143
Label
The weight of ink, Rachel Kadish
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn953710143
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
567 pages
Isbn
9780544866461
Lccn
2017003440
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)953710143

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
Processing Feedback ...