The Resource The girl on the train, Paula Hawkins

The girl on the train, Paula Hawkins

Label
The girl on the train
Title
The girl on the train
Statement of responsibility
Paula Hawkins
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning, flashing past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stopping at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. Their life, as she sees it, is perfect ... until she sees something shocking. It's only a minute until the train moves on, but now everything is changed. Rachel goes to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2015
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Melding the voyeurism of Rear Window with the unreliable narration of Gone Girl (2012), Hawkins delivers a riveting thriller. Rachel commutes to London each day, pretending to go to a job she got sacked from months ago for being drunk. Her ex-husband left her for Megan, and now they have a baby and are living in the home Rachel so lovingly decorated. Almost every day, from the train window, she sees Anna and Scott, who live two doors down from her old home. Rachel vividly imagines Anna and Scott’s perfect life (she calls them the golden couple), giving them elaborate backstories; however, one day she sees Anna kissing a man who is not her husband; the very next day, Anna goes missing. Rachel inserts herself into the investigation with a headlong desperation, keen to find a way to give her life meaning, and what she discovers is surprising on every level. The novel is alternately narrated by three equally unlikable women, and Hawkins very deliberately doles out tantalizing information, but what really gives this novel its compulsive readability is the way she so expertly mines female archetypes: the jealous ex-wife, the smug mistress, the emotionally damaged femme fatale. Hawkins makes voyeurs of her readers as she creates one humiliating scene after another with the women’s near-feral emotions on full display. A wicked thriller, cleverly done.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: This may well be the next Gone Girl, with foreign rights sold in 20 countries and film rights optioned to DreamWorks. -- Wilkinson, Joanne (Reviewed 11-15-2014) (Booklist, vol 111, number 6, p25)
  • Rachel is a washed-up thirty-something who creates a fantasy about the seemingly perfect couple she sees during her daily train ride into London. When the woman goes missing, Rachel manages to insert herself into the investigation of the woman's disappearance. In the vein of Gone Girl, this dark psychological thriller is fast-paced and features some very unreliable narrators. -- Andrea Larson, Cook Memorial Public Library, Libertyville, IL. (LibraryReads, January 2015)
  • /* Starred Review */ Rachel Watson, the principal narrator of Hawkins’s psychologically astute debut, is obsessed with her ex-husband, Tom. She’s having a hard time putting the past behind her, especially since she confronts it daily, during the hourlong commute to London from her rented room in Ashbury, Oxfordshire, when her train passes the Victorian house she once shared with Tom. She also frequently spies an attractive couple, four doors down from her former home, who she imagines to be enjoying the happily-ever-after that eluded her. Then, suddenly, the woman, pixie-ish blonde Megan Hipwell, vanishes—only to turn up on the front page of the tabloids as missing. The police want to question Rachel, after Anna, Tom’s new wife, tells them that Rachel was in the area drunkenly out of control around the time of Megan’s disappearance. Hawkins, formerly deputy personal finance editor of the Times of London, deftly shifts between the accounts of the addled Rachel, as she desperately tries to remember what happened, Megan, and, eventually, Anna, for maximum suspense. The surprise-packed narratives hurtle toward a stunning climax, horrifying as a train wreck and just as riveting. Agent: Lizzy Kremer, David Higham Associates (U.K.). (Jan.) --Staff (Reviewed November 10, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 45, p)
  • Every day, Rachel takes the same London commuter train and passes the same suburban scenery, yet one house catches her eye—mainly because of the married couple she glimpses living there. This leads Rachel to conjure up an entire dream life for this husband and wife, even naming them and giving them make-believe careers. Rachel's life has been spiraling downward, and her fantasy about this couple gives her a little joy. But all is not what it seems and Rachel is soon embroiled in a murderous thriller. Each chapter is narrated by either Rachel or Anna, who's married to Rachel's ex-husband, or, Megan, the woman Rachel sees from the train, but, unfortunately, by using this format, debut author Hawkins confuses the reader. With only a brief look into backstory, undeveloped characters offer no reason or motivation for their actions, and none of them is likable. VERDICT This disappointing psychological thriller is being touted as the next Gone Girl and has already been purchased for film adaptation. So while it may not be the best, it will be popular. For fans of Sophie Hannah or S.J. Watson. [See Prepub Alert, 7/21/14.]— Marianne Fitzgerald, Severna Park H.S., MD --Marianne Fitzgerald (Reviewed October 15, 2014) (Library Journal, vol 139, issue 17, p80)
  • /* Starred Review */ Desperate to find lives more fulfilling than her own, a lonely London commuter imagines the story of a couple she's only glimpsed through the train window in Hawkins' chilling, assured debut, in which the line between truth and lie constantly shifts like the rocking of a train.Rachel Watson—a divorced, miserable alcoholic who's still desperately in love with her ex-husband, Tom—rides the same train every day into London for her dead-end job, one she unsurprisingly loses after one too many drunken outbursts. Continuing her daily commute to keep up appearances with her roommate, Rachel always pays special attention to a couple, whom she dubs "Jess and Jason," who live a seemingly idyllic life in a house near her own former home. When she sees a momentary act of infidelity, followed soon after by news that Jess—whose real name is Megan Hipwell—has disappeared, Rachel is compelled to share her secret knowledge, becoming enmeshed in the police investigation, which centers on Megan's husband, Scott. Further complicating matters is the fact that the night Megan vanished, Rachel has a hazy memory of drunkenly stumbling past the Hipwell home and seeing something she can't quite recall. Hawkins seamlessly moves among Rachel's present-day story as the investigation into Megan's disappearance widens, Megan's own life leading up to her disappearance, and snippets about Anna, the woman for whom Tom left Rachel. Even the most astute readers will be in for a shock as Hawkins slowly unspools the facts, exposing the harsh realities of love and obsession's inescapable links to violence.(Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2014)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10361231
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hawkins, Paula
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6108.A963
LC item number
G57 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Railroad travel
  • Commuters
  • Strangers
  • London (England)
  • Strangers
  • London (England)
  • Commuters
  • Railroad travel
  • Strangers
  • England
Label
The girl on the train, Paula Hawkins
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn886879900
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
323 pages
Isbn
9781594634024
Lccn
2014027001
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
40024537753
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)886879900
Label
The girl on the train, Paula Hawkins
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn886879900
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
323 pages
Isbn
9781594634024
Lccn
2014027001
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
40024537753
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)886879900

Library Locations

    • Amity Public LibraryBorrow it
      307 Trade Street, Amity, OR, 97101, US
      45.123326 -123.205021
    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Dayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      416 Ferry Street, Dayton, OR, 97114, US
      45.220501 -123.076794
    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • Jefferson Public LibraryBorrow it
      128 North Main Street, Jefferson, OR, 97352, US
      44.718014 -123.011649
    • Lyons Public LibraryBorrow it
      279 8th Street, Lyons, OR, 97358, US
      44.775286 -122.612965
    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Mount Angel Public LibraryBorrow it
      290 East Charles Street, Mount Angel, OR, 97362, US
      45.068308 -122.797712
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Sheridan Public LibraryBorrow it
      142 NW Yamhill Street, Sheridan, OR, 97378, US
      45.100699 -123.395913
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
    • Willamina Public LibraryBorrow it
      385 C Street, Willamina, OR, 97396, US
      45.080248 -123.485305
    • Woodburn Public LibraryBorrow it
      280 Garfield Street, Woodburn, OR, 97071, US
      45.143305 -122.858355
Processing Feedback ...