Coverart for item
The Resource The Girl in Between

The Girl in Between

Label
The Girl in Between
Title
The Girl in Between
Statement of responsibility
Sarah Carroll
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won't let us go. Haunting and unforgettable."—Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Horses of Briar HillTold in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.I'm invisible. Ma says I'm supposed to be so the Authorities don't get me. She goes out into the streets almost every day but I'm not allowed. I've got to stay inside the mill so they don't see me. In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets, and watch the busy world go by. The girl calls it the Castle because it's the biggest place they've ever stayed, a home of her own like no other. The windows are boarded up and the floorboards are falling in, but for her neither of those things matter. Then developers show up, and it's clear that their lives are about to change forever. Desperate to save their refuge from the Authorities and her mother from her own personal demons, the girl seeks out the ghosts of the mill. And with only Caretaker—the old man who's slept outside the mill for decades—around to answer her questions, she begins to wonder what kind of ghosts are haunting both the mill and her mother.The Girl in Between is a compelling, witty, and at times heartbreaking novel that explores themes of loneliness and grief with effortless warmth and an unforgettable voice that will stick with you long after you've finished
Summary
A homeless mother and daughter hide in an abandoned mill until developers show up with plans to demolish the building and they must confront both their past and their future
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10569627
Cataloging source
BT
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 6
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adolescent
Label
The Girl in Between
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:0527341c-4d3c-4829-927f-cd6b5965982f
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780735228610
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Girl in Between
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:0527341c-4d3c-4829-927f-cd6b5965982f
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780735228610
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • Chemeketa Cooperative Regional Library Service (CCRLS)Borrow it
      4000 Lancaster Dr. NE Bldg 9/136, Salem, OR, 97309, US
      44.979128 -122.9784282
Processing Feedback ...