The Resource Takeover, Lisa Black

Takeover, Lisa Black

Label
Takeover
Title
Takeover
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Black
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
What initially appears to be a bank heist turns into something far more complex and deadly. When forensic scientist Theresa MacLean seizes the opportunity to trade places with the city's best hostage negotiator, she must decide what she is willing to sacrifice in order to save the lives of innocent people as well as her own
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • When high-level executive Mark Ludlow is discovered beaten to death in front of his house early one morning, forensic scientist Theresa MacLean and her fiancé, homicide detective Paul Cleary, investigate in Black's underwhelming debut, a thriller set in Cleveland. Paul immediately heads downtown to interview Ludlow's co-workers at the Federal Reserve Bank and walks right into a botched robbery attempt and hostage situation. Lucas Parrish and Bobby Moyers want $4 million, but top hostage negotiator Chris Cavanaugh isn't ready to give in to their demands. When Paul is shot in the leg and becomes a hostage, Theresa breaks protocol and convinces Lucas to let Paul go and take her instead. It's up to Theresa on the inside and Chris on the outside to uncover the motive behind the robbery and Ludlow's murder before anyone else gets hurt. Theresa, despite her professional training, devotes little time to scientific deduction. Readers can expect to find richer plots on most TV crime dramas. (Sept.) --Staff (Reviewed July 7, 2008) (Publishers Weekly, vol 255, issue 27, p37)
  • /* Starred Review */ Make room for another gutsy forensic pathologist unwilling to stay put in her lab. Theresa MacLean is horrified when the banker found murdered in his driveway connects, just a few hours later, to a bank hostage situation at the Federal Reserve Bank in downtown Cleveland. Why does her fiancé, detective Paul Cleary, have to be one of the hostages being held by two men who are either incredibly stupid (who robs the Federal Reserve?) or very much clued in to the bank's unique delivery patterns? After a few tense hours observing from the command post across the street, Theresa impulsively defies the hostage negotiator's protocol and swaps places with her wounded fiancé. Now on the inside, she uses her keen observational skills and gains a clearer idea of the robbers' motives. Human behavior, unpredictable as always, forces the hand of the robbers, and the situation escalates messily. Theresa is caught in a harrowing conclusion—car chase and all. Fans of Tess Gerritsen's Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles novels will enjoy this debut thriller by a forensic specialist for its steady suspense, female intuition, and distinctive venue. A terrific vacation read; recommended for all popular collections. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 5/15/08.]—Teresa L. Jacobsen, Solano Cty. Lib., Fairfield, CA --Teresa L. Jacobsen (Reviewed July 15, 2008) (Library Journal, vol 133, issue 12, p58)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
266523
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1963-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Black, Lisa
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.L296
LC item number
T35 2008
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Theresa MacLean novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women forensic scientists
  • Hostage negotiations
  • Bank robberies
  • Cleveland (Ohio)
  • MacLean, Theresa (Fictitious character)
  • Bank robberies
  • Hostage negotiations
  • MacLean, Theresa (Fictitious character)
  • Women forensic scientists
  • Ohio
Label
Takeover, Lisa Black
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 341)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn180577716
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
341 pages
Isbn
9780061544477
Lccn
2007045606
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780061544453
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)180577716
Label
Takeover, Lisa Black
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 341)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn180577716
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
341 pages
Isbn
9780061544477
Lccn
2007045606
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780061544453
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)180577716

Library Locations

    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
Processing Feedback ...