Coverart for item
The Resource She Lies in Wait

She Lies in Wait

Label
She Lies in Wait
Title
She Lies in Wait
Statement of responsibility
Gytha Lodge
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl is missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth—for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson. "This enjoyably chilling suspense tale conveys both the thrills and the dangers of being a teenager on the brink of adult independence."—The New York Times Book Review On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group—Aurora Jackson—is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other—they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found. Thirty years later, Aurora's body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers—including Aurora—personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he's determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens's investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever. This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.Praise for She Lies in Wait"The mystery intrigues and twists, offering enough red herrings and moments of police procedural to please fans of the genre."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"Neatly plotted and nicely atmospheric . . . This British import is plausible and eminently satisfying. Encore, please."—Booklist"What a marvel! A corkscrew-twisty, knife-sharp thriller—yet it doubles as a tender ode to loss and longing. Prepare to be haunted."—A. J. Finn, author of the New York Times bestseller The Woman in the Window
Summary
The discovery of the body of a teen who went missing in the woods 30 years earlier reopens a cold case for a local police officer, who makes contact with six people from his past to uncover what happened
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10748841
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lodge, Gytha
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
Target audience
adult
Label
She Lies in Wait
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:e99a8e48-10b0-4ca2-b11a-fecdf2267caf
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781984817365
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
She Lies in Wait
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:e99a8e48-10b0-4ca2-b11a-fecdf2267caf
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781984817365
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
Processing Feedback ...