Coverart for item
The Resource Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

Label
Salt to the Sea
Title
Salt to the Sea
Statement of responsibility
Ruta Sepetys
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
New York Times Bestseller! "Masterly crafted"—The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people—adults and children alike—aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea:Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."—The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."—Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."—The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."—New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."—Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."—The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."—Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."—Booklist ♦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."—School Library JournalPraise for Between Shades of Gray:A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."—The Washington Post ♦ *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."—BooklistFrom the Hardcover edition
Summary
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Carnegie Medal, 2017.
  • California Young Reader Medal, Young Adult, 2018.
  • Golden Kite Award for Fiction, 2017
  • Goodreads Choice Award, 2016
  • Indies' Choice Book Awards, Young Adult, 2017.
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
  • Notable Books for a Global Society, 2017
  • School Library Journal Best Books, 2016
  • YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017.
  • Grand Canyon Reader Award (Arizona), Teen Book Category, 2018.
  • Virginia Readers' Choice Award for High School, 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10464544
Cataloging source
BT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Sepetys, Ruta
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
560
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 8
  • 12
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Salt to the Sea
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780698172623
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Salt to the Sea
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780698172623
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
Processing Feedback ...