Coverart for item
The Resource Ride around shining : a novel, Chris Leslie-Hynan

Ride around shining : a novel, Chris Leslie-Hynan

Label
Ride around shining : a novel
Title
Ride around shining
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Chris Leslie-Hynan
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess--a nobody from nowhere with a Master's degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming NBA small forward, a Trail Blazer named Calyph West, and his young wife, Antonia. Calyph is black, Antonia is white, and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple's estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior. In the tradition of Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley and Harold Pinter's The Servant--not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude--Ride Around Shining is a striking, propulsive debut that is by turns hilarious and discomfiting, moody and thrilling, and which asks unforgettable questions about the modern tensions of race and class in America"--Jacket flap
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10322148
Cataloging source
TXB
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Leslie-Hynan, Chris
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3612.E816
LC item number
R53 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Chauffeurs
  • African American basketball players
  • Race relations
  • Rich people
  • African American basketball players
  • Chauffeurs
  • Race relations
  • Rich people
Label
Ride around shining : a novel, Chris Leslie-Hynan
Link
http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1507/2014501697-b.html
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn884989728
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
226 pages
Isbn
9780062285072
Lccn
2014501697
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)884989728
Label
Ride around shining : a novel, Chris Leslie-Hynan
Link
http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/enhancements/fy1507/2014501697-b.html
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn884989728
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
226 pages
Isbn
9780062285072
Lccn
2014501697
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)884989728

Library Locations

    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
Processing Feedback ...