The Resource Rage against the dying, Becky Masterman

Rage against the dying, Becky Masterman

Label
Rage against the dying
Title
Rage against the dying
Statement of responsibility
Becky Masterman
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Keeping secrets, telling lies, they require the same skill. Both become a habit, almost an addiction, that's hard to break even with the people closest to you, out of the business. For example, they say never trust a woman who tells you her age; if she can't keep that secret, she can't keep yours. I'm fifty-nine." Brigid Quinn's experiences in hunting sexual predators for the FBI have left her with memories she wishes she didn't have and lethal skills she hopes never to need again. Having been pushed into early retirement by events she thinks she's put firmly behind her, Brigid keeps telling herself she is settling down nicely in Tucson with a wonderful new husband, Carlo, and their dogs. But the past intervenes when a man named Floyd Lynch confesses to the worst unsolved case of Brigid's career--the disappearance and presumed murder of her young protgee, Jessica. Floyd knows things about that terrible night that were never made public, and offers to lead the cops to Jessica's body in return for a plea bargain. It should finally be the end of a dark chapter in Brigid's life. Except ... the new FBI agent on the case, Laura Coleman, thinks the confession is fake, and Brigid finds she cannot walk away from violence and retribution after all, no matter what the cost. --
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Brigid Quinn is a retired FBI agent who was forced out over shooting an unarmed man. She spent her career undercover, working on sexual predator cases, and trained her protégé, Jessica, to follow in her footsteps. Jessica went missing while working on a serial-killer case, and Brigid never recovered from the loss. Several years later, she is happily married and living an idyllic life in Tucson when she learns that there has been an arrest in the case, but the new agent working it, Laura Coleman, thinks the confession is false. When Coleman disappears and the bureau doesn’t seem to notice, Brigid finds herself in the thick of things once again, only this time she is worried about losing another agent, her husband, and her newfound happiness. Brigid is a marvelous character, and her skills are fearsome for someone her age. Although Brigid sometimes takes things too far, stretching the bounds of credulity, it is worth the suspension of disbelief to hang with her. Fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen will love this book. -- Alesi, Stacy (Reviewed 02-01-2013) (Booklist, vol 109, number 11, p29)
  • /* Starred Review */ Resist any temptation to bail after the creepy prologue—a sexual predator’s-eye-view of the woman he’s about to attack—because then you’ll miss one of the most memorable FBI agents since Clarice Starling as well as a killer debut thriller. At 59, Brigid Quinn has officially closed the book on a legendary—and controversial—Bureau career, including years undercover, and is struggling to forget the horrors that still haunt her as a newlywed in a suburb north of Tucson, Ariz. Then the authorities arrest trucker Floyd Lynch, who claims to be the Route 66 Killer—the one notorious homicide case she didn’t close, and which seven years earlier claimed the life of her protégée, rookie undercover agent Jessica Robertson. But some things just don’t add up to either young FBI agent Laura Coleman or Quinn. The steely veteran finds herself thrust back into a nightmare that threatens to shatter her new life—if it doesn’t get her killed. First-time novelist Masterman, acquisitions editor for a press specializing in forensic medical textbooks, ratchets up the suspense with a secondary plot it would be criminal to reveal, stumbling only when it comes to Quinn’s less than convincing domestic bliss with a widowed former priest turned college professor and his pair of pugs. Agent: Helen Heller, the Helen Heller Agency. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed December 17, 2012) (Publishers Weekly, vol 259, issue 51, p)
  • Masterman's gangbusters debut sets a retired FBI agent who thinks she's seen it all against a serial killer who provides new horrors she's never seen. Before shooting an unarmed suspect back in Georgia sent her into early retirement in Tucson, Brigid Quinn had earned a reputation as a brave sex-crimes undercover agent and a skilled investigator. Now that she's living the good life with her bridegroom, Carlos DiForenza, a priest turned professor, she thinks that's all behind her, from the adrenaline rushes to the scandal. But she couldn't be more wrong. When long-haul trucker Floyd Lynch confesses to being the Route 66 killer who killed eight women over a dozen years--the eighth of them being Jessica Robertson, who'd been working as bait under Brigid's supervision--Laura Coleman, a Tucson FBI agent who's always admired Brigid, shares her suspicion that Lynch's confession is bogus and asks Brigid to work the case with her. There are only three complications: Brigid isn't entitled to work any cases anymore; Coleman disappears shortly after getting eased off the case herself; and Brigid shortly has her hands full covering up her own killing of murderous rapist Gerald Peasil. Readers who can accept the coincidence of two sex killers sharing the same zip code and Brigid's unconvincing explanation of why she doesn't just report Peasil's death, which would manifestly be covered by a self-defense plea, are in for a ride as thrilling as they can find outside the pages of Jeffery Deaver (who's regularly invoked here), in the company of a heroine whose cleareyed disillusionment gives each wisecrack a trembling sense of mortality. A scorching, humane first novel that reads as if Masterman's been sitting for a long time on some truly ugly secrets.(Kirkus Reviews, February 1, 2013)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10169549
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Masterman, Becky
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3613.A81965
LC item number
R34 2013
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Brigid Quinn series
Series volume
v. 1]
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Middle-aged women
  • United States
  • Tucson (Ariz.)
  • Secrets
  • Employees
  • Middle-aged women
  • Arizona
  • United States
Label
Rage against the dying, Becky Masterman
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn795172300
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
307 pages
Isbn
9781250038166
Lccn
2012039991
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)795172300
Label
Rage against the dying, Becky Masterman
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn795172300
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
307 pages
Isbn
9781250038166
Lccn
2012039991
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)795172300

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
    • Woodburn Public LibraryBorrow it
      280 Garfield Street, Woodburn, OR, 97071, US
      45.143305 -122.858355
Processing Feedback ...