Coverart for item
The Resource Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :

Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :

Label
Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :
Title
Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :
Statement of responsibility
Sharon M. Draper
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
-- New York Times -- School Library Journal -- Kirkus Reviews -- Booklist From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it...somehow
Summary
Considered by many to be mentally retarded, a brilliant, impatient fifth-grader with cerebral palsy discovers a technological device that will allow her to speak for the first time
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Beehive Children's Fiction Book Award (Utah), 2012.
  • Black-Eyed Susan Book Award (Maryland), Grades 6-9, 2012.
  • Bluestem Award: Illinois' Grades 3-5 Readers' Choice Award, 2013.
  • Buckeye Children's Book Award (Ohio), Grades 6-8, 2011.
  • California Young Reader Medal, Middle School, 2013.
  • Flicker Tale Children's Book Award (North Dakota) for Juvenile Fiction, 2013.
  • Josette Frank Award, 2011.
  • Land of Enchantment Book Award (New Mexico), Young Adult category, 2013.
  • Mark Twain Award (Missouri), 2013.
  • Massachusetts Children's Book Award, 2014.
  • Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award (Minnesota), Division II (Grades 6-8), 2014.
  • Nutmeg Children's Book Award, Intermediate category, 2014.
  • Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards, Grades 6-8, 2013.
  • Prairie Pasque Children's Book Award (South Dakota), 2013.
  • Sunshine State Young Reader's Award (Florida), 2012.
  • Virginia Readers' Choice Award for Middle School, 2012.
  • Young Hoosier Book Award, Middle Books, 2013.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
346232
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Draper, Sharon M.
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
700
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 4
  • 6
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Girls with disabilities
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Photographic memory
  • People with disabilities
  • Communication
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Genius
  • Eleven-year-old girls
  • Fifth-graders
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
THREE_M:dtn3bz9
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781416980452
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Out of My Mind [electronic resource] :
Publication
Control code
THREE_M:dtn3bz9
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781416980452
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Subject

Genre

Included in

Library Locations

    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
Processing Feedback ...