The Resource Not working : a novel, Lisa Owens

Not working : a novel, Lisa Owens

Label
Not working : a novel
Title
Not working
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Owens
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It comes a wise and laugh-out-loud debut novel that captures a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan for her next move. As she struggles to explain herself to friends and family, she experiences the emotions and minutiae of day-to-day life as only someone without the distractions of a regular routine can--and discovers what happens when she seeks true purpose in life"--
  • "First there was Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones; then Allison Pearson's I Don't Know How She Does It; and now Lisa Owen's Not Working to capture the point of view of of a young generation trying not to have it all, but to figure out what it all means. Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan - she is pleased and anxious, but her family and friends don't seem to understand. Before too long she pushes away her safe, steady, brain surgeon boyfriend, and her mother stops talking to her. Claire navigates, observes, and comments on the emotions and minutiae of day to day life as only someone without the distractions of a regular routine can. This is a story of self discovery, packed with wry humor and told in sparkling vignettes"--
Title
Not working
Creator
Summary
Claire has just resigned from her job without a plan for her next move. As she struggles to explain herself to friends and family, she experiences the emotions and minutiae of day-to-day life as only someone without the distractions of a regular routine can—and discovers what happens when she seeks true purpose in life
Subject
Genre
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
Loan Stars Favourites, 2016.
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10485132
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3615.W4695
LC item number
N68 2016
Literary form
fiction
Target audience
adult
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/titleStatement
Lisa Owens
Label
Not working : a novel, Lisa Owens
Publication
http://library.link/vocab/branchCode
  • SPLM
  • MON
  • SIL
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn934627783
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
243 pages
Isbn
9780812988819
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2015042040
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
http://library.link/vocab/recordID
u1266302
System control number
  • (OCoLC)934627783
  • (Sirsi) a1266302

Library Locations

    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
Processing Feedback ...