Coverart for item
The Resource Ivy and the meanstalk, Dawn Lairamore

Ivy and the meanstalk, Dawn Lairamore

Label
Ivy and the meanstalk
Title
Ivy and the meanstalk
Statement of responsibility
Dawn Lairamore
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Fourteen-year-old Princess Ivy wants nothing more than to have a little fun in the company of her dragon friend, Elridge, but unless she can recover the magical harp snatched by a thieving youth named Jack long ago, her entire kingdom will suffer an unspeakable fate
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Writing style
Review
Gr 4 – 6 — In this delightful and humorous sequel to Ivy's Ever After (Holiday House, 2010), 14-year-old Princess Ivy of Ardendale has another adventure that challenges fairy-tale conventions. This lighthearted fantasy revolves around a fractured version of "Jack and the Beanstalk," recasting the giant and his wife as victims and Jack as a villain who used his stolen riches to found the kingdom of Jackopia centuries before the book's start. When the giantess threatens war upon Ardendale if her singing harp isn't returned, Ivy must save the day. While searching for the harp in Jackopia, she meets an overprotected young prince whom she encourages to stand up to his strict parents. This subplot provides an interesting counterpoint to the clichéd image of the princess in need of rescue. Lairamore's well-developed characters are excellent riffs on fairy-tale traditions: Ivy, the disheveled and impetuous princess; Eldridge, the mild-mannered dragon; and Drusilla, Ivy's fairy godmother, who creates problems instead of solving them. Various settings are depicted in rich detail while never detracting from the narrative. The plot is filled with action-packed scenes, including several in which Ivy and Eldridge tangle with the "meanstalk," a frightening version of Jack's beanstalk that attacks climbers. Although accessible to those unfamiliar with Ivy's Ever After , this sequel does contain spoilers for the first book. Perfect for fans of Vivian Vande Velde's Tales from the Brothers Grimm and the Sisters Weird (Harcourt, 2005) and Wendy Mass's "Twice Upon a Time" books (Scholastic).—Tara Kehoe, Plainsboro Public Library, NJ --Tara Kehoe (Reviewed September 1, 2011) (School Library Journal, vol 57, issue 9, p160)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10005088
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lairamore, Dawn
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
Middle School
Interest level
  • MG
  • 3-5
LC call number
PZ8.L1363
LC item number
Itm 2011
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 4
  • 6
Reading level
  • 6.1
  • 5.7
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Princess Ivy
Series volume
2
Study program name
  • Accelerated Reader AR
  • Reading Counts RC
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fairy tales
  • Princesses
  • Dragons
  • Giants
  • Fairy godmothers
  • Teenage girls
  • Magic
  • Thieves
  • Fate and fatalism
  • Animals, Mythical
  • Fairy tales
  • Princesses
  • Dragons
  • Giants
  • Fairy godmothers
  • Animals, Mythical
  • Dragons
  • Fairy godmothers
  • Fairy tales
  • Fate and fatalism
  • Giants
  • Magic
  • Princesses
  • Teenage girls
  • Thieves
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Ivy and the meanstalk, Dawn Lairamore
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn699002984
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
227 pages
Isbn
9780823423927
Lccn
2010048627
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780823423927
System control number
(OCoLC)699002984
Label
Ivy and the meanstalk, Dawn Lairamore
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn699002984
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
227 pages
Isbn
9780823423927
Lccn
2010048627
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9780823423927
System control number
(OCoLC)699002984

Library Locations

    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
Processing Feedback ...