Coverart for item
The Resource I'm traveling alone, Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund

I'm traveling alone, Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund

Label
I'm traveling alone
Title
I'm traveling alone
Statement of responsibility
Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund
Title variation
I am traveling alone
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • nor
  • eng
Summary
"International bestseller Samuel Bjork makes his US debut, a chilling and fast-paced thriller in which two detectives must hunt down a vengeful killer--and uncover the secret that ties each of them to the crime A six-year-old girl is found in the Norwegian countryside, hanging lifeless from a tree and dressed in strange doll's clothes. Around her neck is a sign that says "I'm traveling alone." A special homicide unit in Oslo re-opens with veteran police investigator Holger Munch at the helm. Holger's first step is to persuade the brilliant but haunted investigator Mia Kruger, who has been living on an isolated island, overcome by memories of her past. When Mia views a photograph of the crime scene and spots the number "1" carved into the dead girl's fingernail, she knows this is only the beginning. Could this killer have something to do with a missing child, abducted six years ago and never found, or with the reclusive religious community hidden in the nearby woods? Mia returns to duty to track down a revenge-driven and ruthlessly intelligent killer. But when Munch's own six-year-old granddaughter goes missing, Mia realizes that the killer's sinister game is personal, and I'm Traveling Alone races to an explosive--and shocking--conclusion"--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ The shocking murder of a little girl reunites Oslo police investigator Holger Munch and his brilliant, intuitive colleague Mia Krüger. When the body of the six-year-old is found, dressed in doll clothes and wearing the airline tag, “I’m traveling alone,” Mia spots the numeral one scratched on the girl’s fingernail and predicts there will be more such murders. Mia, reclusive and suicidal since she shot the junkie boyfriend of her late twin sister, rejoins the Violent Crimes Section and sees her prediction hold true, as the body count of six-year-old girls rises and Munch’s beloved granddaughter becomes a target. The investigation eventually encompasses a nursing home, where aging residents are urged to leave their estates to a strange nearby church, and brings up a cold case from six years earlier in which an infant disappeared. And finally it turns personal, for both Munch and Mia. Nordic writers seem to reach a colder, darker place in their crime fiction than most other writers do, and Bjørk (the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright, and singer/songwriter Frode Sander °ien) exemplifies this in his American debut. A suspenseful, skillfully wrought thriller with the potential for a sequel, this is thoroughly chilling and an excellent read-alike for Jo Nesbø fans. -- Leber, Michele (Reviewed 12-01-2015) (Booklist, vol 112, number 7, p29)
  • Bjørk (the pen name of Norwegian novelist Frode Sander Ãñien) makes his U.S. debut with this brooding serial killer thriller. Oslo detectives Holger Munch, a math nerd who dotes on his six-year-old granddaughter, and Mia Krüger, a brilliant profiler who has burned out on her disheartening job and is on the verge of self-destruction, are on the trail of a murderer, whose first victim, a six-year-old girl, was found hanging from a tree by a jump rope, perfectly bathed and groomed, dressed in doll clothing. Similar killings follow. Munch and Krüger realize that they’re dealing with a resourceful perpetrator who plans meticulously and seems always to be a step ahead of them. Krüger eventually discovers that the killer may have a personal vendetta, and when Munch’s granddaughter is threatened, she and Munch must gaze into their own pasts for crucial clues. Bjørk doles out characterization and exposition in multiparagraph lumps, but harrowing and enthralling action sequences more than compensate. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed November 30, 2015) (Publishers Weekly, vol 262, issue 48, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ After a six-year-old girl is found dressed up like a doll and hanging from a tree, police investigator Holger Munch rebuilds his disbanded Oslo Violent Crimes unit. Once he has located and brought brilliant detective Mia Krüger back from her self-imposed exile, Munch rounds out the team with colleagues both old and new, including Gabriel, a bright young computer hacker who has just been recruited to the force. When more girls go missing, the team race against the clock to find the killer before it's too late. Mia's deductive skills rival those of Sherlock Holmes, but even she is having trouble getting to the bottom of this mystery that may involve one of Munch's old unsolved investigations, a nursing home, a famous actor, and a religious cult. It soon becomes apparent that the killer has a special grudge against Munch and Mia. VERDICT A breath of fresh air in the crowded Scandinavian crime genre, this suspenseful novel (the first of the author's works to be published in United States) by Bjørk, the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright, and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Ãñien, will hook readers early and keep them on the edge of their seat until the final pages. Fans of Jo Nesbø are sure to enjoy the flawed yet likable characters. [See Prepub Alert, 8/24/15.]— Portia Kapraun, Delphi P.L., IN --Portia Kapraun (Reviewed February 1, 2016) (Library Journal, vol 141, issue 2, p60)
  • Children stolen and dressed like dolls before they're murdered bring suicidal detective Mia Kruger out of hiding and back to police work in Bjà ̧rk's complicated, yet compelling, tale. Mia, excoriated by the media when she killed her dead sister's drug dealer, is biding her time, counting the days until she can kill herself. But her old police boss, Holger Munch, has different ideas. He needs Mia—a genius at reading crime scenes—to help him solve the kidnapping and murder of a 6-year-old girl. The girl, wearing a backpack and a sign around her neck that says, "I am traveling alone," was found hanging in a tree. Now, Munch fears, the murders of other children will follow. Lured back into service just 12 days from the date she had been planning to die, Mia starts finding things in the crime scene photos that others failed to see. Meanwhile, Munch is balancing his relationships with his daughter, granddaughter, and elderly mother. As Munch and Mia cobble together their old team and add a few new faces to the unit, two young brothers find another dead girl in the woods. Like the first victim, she is only 6 and wearing a backpack and the same sign. Before long, the killer strikes yet again, and soon it will become very personal for the two police detectives. Bjà ̧rk has constructed a labyrinthine plot with plenty of red herrings and rabbit holes, but even with a cast of many, he manages to do justice to the story. Munch and Mia, who are very good at their jobs, are also interesting and vulnerable—especially Mia, who is clearly disturbed and shows it. Other than stuffing the book with an overabundance of characters who play little to no role in the case, Bjà ̧rk provides good solid reading. Bjà ̧rk constructs a plot like a jigsaw puzzle with many pieces, and somehow it all works.(Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2015)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10462420
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bjørk, Samuel
Dewey number
839.823/8
Index
no index present
LC call number
PT8952.12.J66
LC item number
H4613 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Barslund, Charlotte
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Holger Munch & Mia Kruger
Series volume
1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Murder
  • Police
  • Murder
  • Police
  • Norway
  • Norway
Label
I'm traveling alone, Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn910413025
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
388 pages
Isbn
9780525428961
Lccn
2015044556
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)910413025
Label
I'm traveling alone, Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn910413025
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
388 pages
Isbn
9780525428961
Lccn
2015044556
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)910413025

Library Locations

    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Sheridan Public LibraryBorrow it
      142 NW Yamhill Street, Sheridan, OR, 97378, US
      45.100699 -123.395913
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
Processing Feedback ...