The Resource I lost my tooth!, by Mo Willems

I lost my tooth!, by Mo Willems

Label
I lost my tooth!
Title
I lost my tooth!
Statement of responsibility
by Mo Willems
Title variation
Unlimited Squirrels in I lost my tooth!
Creator
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Friends search for Zoom Squirrel's missing baby tooth. Includes "acorn-y jokes" and "cool facts."
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Character
Illustration
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ PreS-Gr 1—In this first title in a new easy reader series, Zoom Squirrel has lost his baby tooth and his frenetic squirrel friends (with names like Boom, Zap, and Zowie) are frantic to help him find it, because they literally think the tooth is a baby that must be scared, alone, and hungry! The madcap silliness and humor will please fans of "Elephant & Piggie." The format is similar, too, with spare text in speech bubbles along with varying text size and boldness to convey strong emotions. Clean, simply drawn illustrations are done in muted shades of brown. In addition to the story, there are a couple of other sections (enough to warrant a Table of Contents for the 96-page book) such as "Acorn-y Jokes," and the clever addition of some factual information about teeth, provided by a character named Research Rodent. Savvy readers will find Pigeon hiding on one of the pages, and will enjoy locating the various "emote-acorns" throughout the book—acorns with different expressions. VERDICT Another easy reader hit for Willems. Fans of "Elephant & Piggie" will enjoy the author's trademark humor and format and embrace these new squirrely friends.—Ramarie Beaver, Plano Public Library System, TX --Ramarie Beaver (Reviewed 08/01/2018) (School Library Journal, vol 64, issue 8, p63)
  • Full of signature Willems hilarity, this beginning reader series opener stars 16 squirrels whose cheerful energy bursts from the pages. When Zoom Squirrel tells the other squirrels about its lost tooth (“Th! Th! Th!” Zoom keeps saying, experimenting with the new hole in its mouth), the revelation is met by over-the-top cries of dismay. “The tooth was loose,” Zoom Squirrel explains reasonably. “You should not let a tooth go loose, Zoom Squirrel,” Zap Squirrel cries. “Teeth have no sense of direction,” Zing Squirrel adds. “WE WILL FIND YOUR TOOTH!” the scurry shouts in chorus, and the story builds even after the tooth is found. The squirrels all sport adorable, bean-shaped noses, and a chart on the endpapers shows which is which. The action unfolds against a clean white backdrop, the better to emphasize the chatter; acorn emojis pepper the pages to convey moments of emotional impact; and tooth facts and back-of-the-cereal-box jokes round out the tale. New readers will giggle as they puzzle out new words and sounds. Ages 6–8. Agent: Marcia Wernick, Wernick & Pratt Agency. (Oct.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 08/06/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 32, p)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10690474
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Willems, Mo
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
  • PS3623.I555
  • PZ7.W65535
LC item number
  • I46 2018
  • Iaj 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • -1
  • 1
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Unlimited squirrels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Teeth
  • Squirrels
  • Humorous stories
  • Teeth
  • Squirrels
  • Humorous stories
  • Humorous stories
  • Squirrels
  • Teeth
Target audience
primary
Label
I lost my tooth!, by Mo Willems
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • txt
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Contents
The big story -- Acorn-y joke -- Research rodent -- Another acorn-y joke -- Fur real -- Bonus acorn-y joke -- The tale end
Control code
on1019846094
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
82 pages
Isbn
9780780431348
Lccn
2018000644
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1019846094
Label
I lost my tooth!, by Mo Willems
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • txt
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Contents
The big story -- Acorn-y joke -- Research rodent -- Another acorn-y joke -- Fur real -- Bonus acorn-y joke -- The tale end
Control code
on1019846094
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
82 pages
Isbn
9780780431348
Lccn
2018000644
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1019846094

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • West Salem Branch LibraryBorrow it
      395 Glen Creek Rd. NW, Salem, OR, 97304, US
      44.950761 -123.048683
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
    • Willamina Public LibraryBorrow it
      385 C Street, Willamina, OR, 97396, US
      45.080248 -123.485305
    • Woodburn Public LibraryBorrow it
      280 Garfield Street, Woodburn, OR, 97071, US
      45.143305 -122.858355
Processing Feedback ...