Coverart for item
The Resource How to be a good wife, Emma Chapman

How to be a good wife, Emma Chapman

Label
How to be a good wife
Title
How to be a good wife
Statement of responsibility
Emma Chapman
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Emma Donoghue's Room and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, a haunting literary debut about a woman who begins having visions that make her question everything she knows. Marta and Hector have been married for a long time. Through the good and bad; through raising a son and sending him off to life after university. So long, in fact, that Marta finds it difficult to remember her life before Hector. He has always taken care of her, and she has always done everything she can to be a good wife--as advised by a dog-eared manual given to her by Hector's aloof mother on their wedding day. But now, something is changing. Small things seem off. A flash of movement in the corner of her eye, elapsed moments that she can't recall. Visions of a blonde girl in the darkness that only Marta can see. Perhaps she is starting to remember--or perhaps her mind is playing tricks on her. As Marta's visions persist and her reality grows more disjointed, it's unclear if the danger lies in the world around her, or in Marta herself. The girl is growing more real every day, and she wants something"--
Summary
Marta and Hector have been married for a long time. So long that she finds it difficult to remember her life before him. But now Marta is starting to doubt her life with Hector. A blonde girl has appeared in the shadows, and she seems to be telling her something. Is Marta hallucinating? Or could this be a memory, rising to the surface?
Theme
Tone
Writing style
Award
Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award, 2013.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10219156
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1985-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chapman, Emma
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.C424
LC item number
H69 2013
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wives
  • Visions
  • Mind and reality
  • Mind and reality
  • Visions
  • Wives
Target audience
adult
Label
How to be a good wife, Emma Chapman
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain by Picador [2013], an imprint of Pan Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited"--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn827256701
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9781250018205
Lccn
2013020562
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other control number
9781250018199
Stock number
104001909
System control number
(OCoLC)827256701
Label
How to be a good wife, Emma Chapman
Publication
Note
"First published in Great Britain by Picador [2013], an imprint of Pan Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited"--Title page verso
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn827256701
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
275 pages
Isbn
9781250018205
Lccn
2013020562
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other control number
9781250018199
Stock number
104001909
System control number
(OCoLC)827256701

Library Locations

    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
Processing Feedback ...