Coverart for item
The Resource Black-Eyed Susans

Black-Eyed Susans

Label
Black-Eyed Susans
Title
Black-Eyed Susans
Statement of responsibility
Julia Heaberlin
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER • For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.This ebook edition contains a special preview of Julia Heaberlin's Paper Ghosts.I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one. As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row. Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue. What they don't know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night. Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.Praise for Black-Eyed Susans"A masterful thriller that shouldn't be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . [Julia] Heaberlin's work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn't be: Flynn's Gone Girl and now Heaberlin's Black-Eyed Susans. Don't miss it."—The Washington Post"[A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising."—The Boston Globe"A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended."—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob"My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant."—Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders"Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin's third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling."—Library Journal (starred review)"Brilliant . . . a breakout book."—Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Summary
Rendered famous as the only survivor of a serial killer 20 years earlier, Tessa discovers clues that the wrong person was convicted and that the true killer is preparing to finish what he started
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2015
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10401469
Cataloging source
BT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Heaberlin, Julia
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
  • Suspense
  • Thriller
Target audience
adult
Label
Black-Eyed Susans
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:c5a8ebed-4e23-480a-8055-97a1660e4449
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780804178006
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Black-Eyed Susans
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:c5a8ebed-4e23-480a-8055-97a1660e4449
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780804178006
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Independence Public LibraryBorrow it
      175 Monmouth Street, Independence, OR, 97351, US
      44.851488 -123.185756
Processing Feedback ...