Coverart for item
The Resource Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim

Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim

Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Title
Abandoned
Title remainder
America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Statement of responsibility
Anne Kim
Title variation
Abandoned
Title variation remainder
Americas lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But 4.5 million young people--or a stunning 11.5 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four--experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams. Author Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness--including new research from the field of adolescent brain science--that "emerging adulthood" is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency. A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward."--Publisher's website
  • "A deeply affecting exposé of America's hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10847002
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kim, Anne
Dewey number
305.2350973
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
index present
LC call number
HQ799.7
LC item number
.K56 2020
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Young adults
  • Problem youth
  • Poor youth
  • Youth
  • United States
  • Poor youth
  • Problem youth
  • Social conditions
  • Young adults
  • Youth
  • United States
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection
Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 197-225) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Embarking. Emergence and divergence ; An epidemic of disconnection -- Drifting: avenues to disconnection. Marooned: place and opportunity ; An urban opportunity desert ; When work disappears ; Abandoned by the state: "aging out" ; "Justice" -- Anchored: paths to reconnection. Throwing lifelines ; Intensive care ; Super mentors ; The apprentice and the intern ; A Texas turnaround to make schools work -- A new youth agenda. The "fierce urgency of now" ; Seven steps for ending disconnection
Control code
on1113329422
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
241 pages
Isbn
9781620975008
Lccn
2019034594
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
System control number
(OCoLC)1113329422
Label
Abandoned : America's lost youth and the crisis of disconnection, Anne Kim
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 197-225) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Embarking. Emergence and divergence ; An epidemic of disconnection -- Drifting: avenues to disconnection. Marooned: place and opportunity ; An urban opportunity desert ; When work disappears ; Abandoned by the state: "aging out" ; "Justice" -- Anchored: paths to reconnection. Throwing lifelines ; Intensive care ; Super mentors ; The apprentice and the intern ; A Texas turnaround to make schools work -- A new youth agenda. The "fierce urgency of now" ; Seven steps for ending disconnection
Control code
on1113329422
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
241 pages
Isbn
9781620975008
Lccn
2019034594
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
System control number
(OCoLC)1113329422

Library Locations

    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
Processing Feedback ...