The Resource A simple favor : a novel, Darcey Bell

A simple favor : a novel, Darcey Bell

Label
A simple favor : a novel
Title
A simple favor
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Darcey Bell
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train"--
  • "A debut psychological thriller--in the vein of GONE GIRL or GIRL ON A TRAIN--that focuses on a mommy blogger, her best friend who disappears suddenly, and the latter's husband--with betrayals and reversals, a dead body, and the ever-revolving question of who is duping whom"--
Storyline
Writing style
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Emily and Stephanie become best friends, despite their differences, after their five-year-old sons, Nicky and Miles, bond in kindergarten. Emily—married to Sean, who works on Wall Street—handles public relations for a high-style Manhattan designer, while Stephanie, a widow, is a stay-at-home mom who writes a blog for other moms. When Emily has an emergency at work, she asks Stephanie for a simple favor: to pick up Nicky at school, along with Miles, and take him home until she can get him later that evening. Except that Emily doesn’t come home—not that night, or the next day, or for weeks after. Sean is initially nonchalant, thinking Emily is traveling on business, until he, too, gets worried. Stephanie’s blog posts, asking other moms for assistance or advice, are interspersed with chapters from the viewpoints of each of the three principal adults, as secrets are revealed, and the plot takes one twist after another to its final pages. Debut-novelist Bell ramps up suspense with authority in this domestic thriller, in which actions seem as inevitable as they are chilling. The audience that made Gone Girl a publishing sensation is likely to take to this one, too. -- Leber, Michele (Reviewed 2/1/2017) (Booklist, vol 113, number 11, p27)
  • In Bell’s convoluted debut, widowed mommy-blogger Stephanie Ward receives a call from her best friend, Emily Nelson, asking her to pick up Emily’s five-year-old son, Nicky, from school. There’s an emergency at work, Emily explains, but she’ll be by to get Nicky no later than 9 p.m. Nicky is best friends with Stephanie’s son, Miles, and the boys attend the same suburban Connecticut kindergarten, so Stephanie agrees. Days pass and Emily never appears, leading Stephanie to fear the worst. Emily’s husband, Sean, returns home from his European business trip and calls the police, who assume that Emily has simply run away—until her body washes up at her family’s lake house in Michigan. Stephanie initially seeks to comfort Sean, but when questions arise surrounding Emily’s death, she’s left wondering what is true and whom to trust. While Stephanie, Emily, and Sean share the narrative, Stephanie is the primary point-of-view character, and her vacuity and naïveté undercut the story’s tension and heft. Bell further squanders an intriguing setup with ill-defined stakes and tired, telegraphed plot twists. Agent: Denise Shannon, Denise Shannon Literary Agency. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed 01/09/2017) (Publishers Weekly, vol 264, issue 02, p)
  • Widowed mommy blogger Stephanie and Emily are good friends who met through their five-year-old sons. When Emily asks Stephanie to watch her son Nicky for several hours, she willingly agrees to the favor. Yet she becomes concerned when Emily does not return to retrieve Nicky. Stephanie's anxiety escalates with each passing day that Emily is missing. When Sean, Emily's husband, comes back from a business trip, Emily has been gone for six days. When a body is discovered that is identified as Emily's, their joint grief draws Stephanie and Sean closer. But things aren't always as they seem. Many secrets swirl around Emily's disappearance. Was she really the friend Stephanie thought she was? What life-altering skeletons in the closet are waiting to be exposed? VERDICT Bell's edgy first novel is chock-full of dirty little secrets, lies, and manipulations. Gone Girl devotees should reserve an advance copy and carve out uninterrupted time for this juicy read. [See Prepub Alert, 9/26/16; library outreach.]—Mary Todd Chesnut, Northern Kentucky Univ. Lib., Highland Heights --Mary Todd Chesnut (Reviewed 02/15/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 3, p74)
  • An insecure woman with an edgy past insinuates herself into the lives of a narcissistic, glamorous couple and finds herself in jeopardy.The formula is familiar: Bell's debut is a pale facsimile of The Girl on the Train. True to template, the novel tells the same story from the differing and self-serving perspectives of three narrators. Stephanie is a blogger who writes about mom issues. Recently widowed and raising small son Miles alone, she overshares all manner of anxieties on her blog. Her husband and her half brother died together in a tragic auto crash, but later we learn the edgy part: her husband had suspicions about her ongoing affair with her half brother. Stephanie forms a play-date friendship with fellow Connecticut mom Emily, a busy publicist for a top Manhattan fashion designer. Certainly, Emily has an unusual fondness for serial-killer movies and Patricia Highsmith novels—and, thanks to her high-powered job, is always sticking Stephanie with the kids—but Stephanie thinks, and blogs, that she's finally found a true friend. The two do share a common dysfunctional past: estrangement from Midwestern parents. After Emily disappears during a business trip, however, the POV shifts to her, and we learn that she and her Wall Street trader husband, Sean (who's the third narrator), planned to fake her death in order to cash in on a $2 million life insurance policy so they and their son, Nicky, could escape the rat race. From here, the typical who's-playing-whom standoff between the three principals unspools, and violence accelerates. There are plenty of rationalizations cited by Sean and Emily as to why their scam makes sense, in spite of the likelihood that $2 million is a drop in Sean's annual bonus bucket, and, in any case, how much time away from the rat race would it really buy? This is just one of many unconvincing motivations driving the plot, which will amply satisfy readers' lowest expectations. More like "girl on a train wreck."(Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2017)
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10545979
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bell, Darcey
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.E45255
LC item number
S86 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Single mothers
  • Bloggers
  • Female friendship
  • Missing persons
  • Deception
  • Deception
  • Bloggers
  • Deception
  • Female friendship
  • Missing persons
  • Single mothers
Label
A simple favor : a novel, Darcey Bell
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn947145431
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
298 pages
Isbn
9780062497772
Lccn
2016032303
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)947145431
Label
A simple favor : a novel, Darcey Bell
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn947145431
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
298 pages
Isbn
9780062497772
Lccn
2016032303
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)947145431

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • West Salem Branch LibraryBorrow it
      395 Glen Creek Rd. NW, Salem, OR, 97304, US
      44.950761 -123.048683
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
Processing Feedback ...