Coverart for item
The Resource A passion for pleasure, Nina Rowan

A passion for pleasure, Nina Rowan

Label
A passion for pleasure
Title
A passion for pleasure
Statement of responsibility
Nina Rowan
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife. As a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for--and save her from the fate she most fears."--Page 4 of cover
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • In the second of the Daring Hearts series, Rowan features Clara Whitmore, a widow fighting to regain custody of her young son. Sebastian Hall sees her at her uncle’s automaton museum when he seeks plans for a coding machine. She remembers studying piano with him when she was a teen and now feels that he is the man to help her. She proposes marriage. His music career is then derailed by a hand injury and botched surgery, which he is keeping secret from his demanding father. Clara and Sebastian find strength and passion in each other in Rowan’s lovely, well-written historical romance featuring appealing major and minor characters. The first title in the series, A Study in Seduction (2012), featured an older brother, and more siblings will no doubt continue to appear. Readers who enjoy Alexandra Hawkins and Grace Burrowes will enjoy this evocative, romantic reading experience. -- Alessio, Amy (Reviewed 04-01-2013) (Booklist, vol 109, number 15, p30)
  • Based on the title, one might expect Rowan’s second Daring Hearts Victorian (after A Study in Seduction) to be raunchy, but it’s more romantic suspense than erotic romp. Young widow Clara Winter wants to get her seven-year-old son out of her father’s clutches. Sebastian Hall is a pampered scion of aristocracy whose blossoming career as a pianist was cut short by a devastating hand injury, leaving him desperate for cash. Their mutual salvation may be to find the plans for an encryption machine Sebastian’s diplomat-brother is seeking—and to marry. Rowan’s characters are at best angst-ridden and at worst amoral sociopaths; they lie, manipulate, and maneuver their way through a fraught plot that includes synesthesia, property law, automata, cryptography, and the Crimean War. Anxiety is Rowan’s métier; the erotic tension is hot, but the emotional development is minimal. Agent: Kimberly Witherspoon, InkWell Management. (May) --Staff (Reviewed March 11, 2013) (Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 10, p)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10172614
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rowan, Nina
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3618.O87258
LC item number
P37 2013
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A daring hearts novel
Series volume
0002
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Pianists
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Mate selection
  • England
  • Man-woman relationships
  • Manners and customs
  • Mate selection
  • Pianists
  • England
Label
A passion for pleasure, Nina Rowan
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
"A brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife. As a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for -- and save her from the fate she most fears." -- P. [4] of cover
Control code
ocn813540852
Dimensions
18 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
374 pages
Isbn
9781455509560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)813540852
Label
A passion for pleasure, Nina Rowan
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
"A brilliant pianist and notorious rake, Sebastian Hall indulges his passion for music and women with equal aplomb. But now that his elder brother has married, his father insists he pursue a more respectable path and find a suitable wife. As a girl, Clara Whitmore quietly loved her piano teacher from afar. Yet her youthful crush cannot compare to the powerful desire she feels when she unexpectedly meets Sebastian again. Perhaps the man who once dominated her dreams could be the husband she has hoped for -- and save her from the fate she most fears." -- P. [4] of cover
Control code
ocn813540852
Dimensions
18 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
374 pages
Isbn
9781455509560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)813540852

Library Locations

    • Dallas Public LibraryBorrow it
      950 Main Street, Dallas, OR, 97338, US
      44.941959 -123.317528
Processing Feedback ...