The Resource A gift for Goose, Tad Hills

A gift for Goose, Tad Hills

Label
A gift for Goose
Title
A gift for Goose
Statement of responsibility
Tad Hills
Creator
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When Duck has a gift for Goose, he puts it in a box that he painted with red, blue, and yellow stripes
Member of
Review
Picture- and board-book duo Duck and Goose get the early-reader treatment. Duck has a gift for his pal Goose—and it's not even Goose's birthday! The friendliest fowl around, Duck puts this gift (a mystery to readers) in a white box, paints the box in colorful stripes, and ties a ribbon around it. To top it off, he even includes a handmade card. Goose arrives on the scene and starts honking questions about the present. As soon as Goose realizes the box is for him—and is a convenient receptacle for all his "special things"—he rushes off to gather his many treasures. When Goose returns, Duck tells his hasty friend the box is not the actual gift and invites him to open it, which Goose does to discover...another box! Using a vocabulary of around 60 unique words (usually 8 or fewer per page) Hills successfully shepherds the duo into their newest format. Rather than using italics, the design underlines a few words for emphasis. The spare mixed-media illustrations directly correlate to the text, featuring one or both birds in a patch of grass set against an ample solid white background. In addition to aiding decoding, the book's predictable pattern contributes to its well-paced comedic moments. On one spread, for instance, Goose unexpectedly breaks the fourth wall in a moment of heightened emotion. Fans of Duck and Goose can happily take the pair with them as they move toward independent reading. (Early reader. 4-7) (Kirkus Reviews, October 1, 2018)
Awards note
A Junior Library Guild selection.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10749318
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hills, Tad
Dewey number
[E]
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.H563737
LC item number
Gi 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 0
  • 0
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Duck & Goose
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Gifts
  • Friendship
  • Ducks
  • Geese
  • Boxes
  • Gifts
  • Ducks
  • Geese
  • Boxes
  • Ducks
  • Friendship
  • Geese
  • Gifts
Target audience
juvenile
Label
A gift for Goose, Tad Hills
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Junior Library Guild selection"--Jacket flap
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1080519800
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9780525644903
Lccn
2018287803
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1080519800
Label
A gift for Goose, Tad Hills
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Junior Library Guild selection"--Jacket flap
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1080519800
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
1 volume (unpaged)
Isbn
9780525644903
Lccn
2018287803
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1080519800

Library Locations

    • McMinnville Public LibraryBorrow it
      225 NW Adams Street, McMinnville, OR, 97128, US
      45.210071 -123.199661
    • Monmouth Public LibraryBorrow it
      168 S Ecols St., Monmouth, OR, 97361, US
      44.848141 -123.23189
    • Newberg Public LibraryBorrow it
      503 East Hancock Street, Newberg, OR, 97132, US
      45.301909 -122.974741
    • Silver Falls Library DistrictBorrow it
      410 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR, 97381, US
      45.003378 -122.781322
    • Salem Public LibraryBorrow it
      585 Liberty Street SE, Salem, OR, 97301, US
      44.934972 -123.041775
    • Stayton Public LibraryBorrow it
      515 N First Avenue, Stayton, OR, 97383, US
      44.799165 -122.794497
Processing Feedback ...